If You Give A Writer a Cookie

Standard

My husband has a terrible sweet tooth, so Saturday I made a batch of chocolate chip cookies with coconut. I’m not a big fan of coconut, but Dan is, and for some reason I have two bags of flaked coconut in our pantry. In an attempt to get rid of some, I upped the amount of coconut in the recipe. But I still have two bags in my pantry.

Are you like me where you find it hard to follow a recipe? I’m always tweaking the amounts, generally upping either the sweet content or the spices. It’s like that with writing for me, too. I try to follow recipes, but end up adding my own special flavorings.

Here’s something to nibble on. Tastes great with a chilled glass of milk and a good book.

Coconutty Chocolate Chip Cookies
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup flaked coconut (or increase to 3/4 cup)
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup dark chocolate chocolate chips
3/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Heat oven to 375 degrees. In large mixing bowl, combine sugars, butter, egg and vanilla. Beat at medium speed of electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add flour, coconut, baking soda and salt. Beat at low speed until soft dough forms. Stir in chips and nuts.

Drop dough by spoon, leaving about 2 inches between dough balls, onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake for 8-10 minutes until edges are light golden brown. Cool on rack.

For another cookie recipe click on this post’s headline.

Leave a Reply

