Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

Standard


I grew up reading Dr. Suess, and what an ear-tickler his words were after reading the stilted Dick and Jane series. See Dick run. See Jane run. See Tasha run from Dick and Jane. So it’s appropriate the Read Across America campaign honors Dr. Seuss’s birthday, and the man who injected excitement into learning to read.

I had the pleasure of shaking the hand of his wife, Audrey Geisel (aka Mrs. Seuss), when my nephew graduated from Dartmouth College in 2000. She was there to receive an honorary degree from the college her husband had attended. (I also got to shake J.K Rowling’s hand who was also there to receive an honorary degree. So you can imagine how awestruck I was just to be in their presence! I did manage to say a few words to J.K. mainly to thank her for all she had done to for the children’s book industry – and also for reading. How many dads read Harry Potter just to see what was keeping their kids up all night?)

I also happen to own a 1931 copy of the book that enabled Dr. Seuss to break into children’s literature. It’s called Boners and there’s no mistaking Dr. Seuss’s illustrations.

So yes, I am a big Dr. Seuss fan. And I hope that during Read Across America Day – and for all days thereafter – kids can discover the joy of reading as I did when I read my first Dr. Seuss book, which still graces my office bookshelf.

Leave a Reply

