Happy Father’s Day

Standard


These days not many dads will be getting ties for Father’s Day. But if they were, this is one cool tie they wish they had!

Teacher Mike Parker of Lewiston, Maine, makes ties by drawing illustrations on them inspired by children’s books. Then he has the illustrators (some of who are also authors) autograph them as well. He has ties signed by Steven Kellogg, Tomie de Paola, Eric Carle, Patricia Polacco, Brian Jacques, and Jerry Pinkney. His students get a kick out of his unique tie collection. (And I’m sure he’s the best dressed teacher at his school!) Mike recently made a tie with an image from the cover of my latest book, Go to Bed, Monster!, and sent it to me to sign. I loved it so much I wanted to share it with you. Thank you, Mike, for including me in your collection!

And to all the fathers out there, thank you for being an influential part of your child’s life. Keep being a reading model for them.

One response »

  1. I love the tie idea. I think they should be marketed in Book stores. They could sell on ebay too. Let me know if they are ever available to the public. I think they are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

