‘Twas the Night Before Christmas Ballet

Standard

As an appreciator of the classic Christmas story which was the impetus of my paperback series, I am excited to see ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas performed as a ballet. Dance Class is putting on two shows this Sunday at Humboldt State University’s Van Duzer Theater. According to the preview article, a ballerina, a pirate king and toys will come to life on a delightfully new take on what happened one Christmas eve, and promised not to be another “The Nutcracker.”

If you live in Humboldt County – and you missed the article in the Times-Standard – tickets are only $8 for adults and $6 for kids and seniors. I purchased mine at Mosgo’s Coffeehouse in Arcata, but they’re also for sale at the door.

I don’t know about you, but Christmas seemed to have snuck up on me – our lights aren’t even strung yet – so I’m hoping this will boost my holiday spirit (or else I’m going to have to drink more spiked egg nog!)

Personally, I wish someone would do a play of The Night Before the Night Before Christmas and perform it on December 23 so that all the procrastinators will have a really good excuse why they aren’t out shopping or baking cookies. But I’m sure this ballet will be the next best thing.

Leave a Reply

