Kindergartners Love Pearl!

Standard


I’m so excited that Scholastic Book Club has published my first ever chapter book, but it’s even more exciting to hear from the readers.

Here’s a series of emails I received from a Kindergarten teacher in Ohio, posted with her permission. Simply made my day! And teachers, she has some good ideas on how to extend the Tooth Fairy discussion beyond this book.

Dear Miss Wing,

This is a first for me, but I just had to write to tell you how much my Kindergarten children are enjoying your new chapter book, Pearl vs. the Tooth Fairy. I ordered it on a whim to use during our Dental Health unit. I have stretched the reading out over four days and the children cheer when I announce that it is time for another chapter. I’ll have to give in and finish it tomorrow but I will be sad that the fun is over. I have to say that I have enjoyed this book immensely myself.

I read that this is your first chapter book, but I hope it will not be the last. I’m off now to see about the other books you’ve written.

Thank you so much for giving us such a fun read.

Sincerely,
Shelagh Weiss and the Full Day Kindergarten children at St. Mark School in Cleveland, Ohio.

Dear Ms. Wing,

Thank you for the photo. The children will love it!

We did finish Pearl vs the Tooth Fairy last week and the children were not disappointed. When the fairy dust idea was introduced the children’s eyes all grew wider. Then we thought back—Was that why the Tooth Fairy crashed into the screen and broke her wand? (I personally loved the image of the Tooth Fairy’s frizzy hair and shoes on the wrong feet. We had already made a book showing what we thought the Tooth Fairy looked like and what we thought she did with the teeth. Neither of your thoughts matched ours.)

Anyway, the book ended with a round of applause and ideas on what notes they would write to the Tooth Fairy when they lost their next tooth. It also made the children still waiting for the first tooth to fall out feel better because that tooth is so special.

Thank you again for giving the children such a thrilling and personal story. We really were on the edge of our seats for the whole book.

Sincerely,

Shelagh Weiss

Dear Miss Wing,

I just want to tell you again how special this book was for us. I honestly think it is the best book I have shared with a class in a long time. I found myself wanting to read ahead to find out what was going to happen but I held back to be as excited as the children when we sat down to read. We are still reading other Tooth Fairy books (You Think It’s Easy Being the Tooth Fairy, What Do the Fairies Do With All Those Teeth and Tooth Fairy.) We are comparing different ideas on what a Tooth Fairy looks and acts like.

The children loved the picture you sent and you will definitely be a special part of this class’ year.

Shelagh Weiss

Note to teachers: I also have another Tooth Fairy book, The Night Before the Tooth Fairy, if you are also wanting to read and compare as this Kindergarten class did.
Photo credit: Gina Caldwell

2 responses »

  1. Ever since my daughter's teacher read Pearl vs. The Tooth Fairy in class she has begged me for the book – I would gladly oblige her but can not find it in Borders, Barnes & Noble, or even online. Do I have the correct title? If so, please point me to a retailer/ website that carries it. You made a big hit!Sincerely, JC

Leave a Reply

