Chango Bar Recipe

Standard

Silly me! I thought everyone in the world had a copy of Jalapeno Bagels at their fingertips! What’s that you say? That you gave your copy to a young child to enjoy?

Okay, then here’s the recipe for Chango Bars which is in the back of my book. I’m going to leave out the baking time and let you decide when they are done, then report back to me. (see challenge below)

Chango Bars
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup margarine
2 cups brown sugar
3 eggs
2-1/3 cups flour
1 T baking powder
1 t salt
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup mixed nuts (I used walnuts, chopped almonds, and a bag of airplane peanuts, but it’s your preference)

Melt butter and margarine. While this is melting, cream brown sugar and eggs, then add melted butter and margarine. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt and stir into sugar mixture. Fold in chocolate chips and nuts. Pour mixture into greased 9 inch by 13 inch baking pan. Bake for ?? minutes at 350 degrees.

Confession: I liked the dough better than the baked bars. The dough tastes like butterscotch – yum! But if you’re a freak about e-coli and all that, this contains raw eggs, so don’t eat it. So far I have lived and I ate the dough last Saturday.

Leave a Reply

