I Was Rejected by M.T. Anderson

Standard

I’m getting ready to move in three weeks, and part of the task of packing is cleaning out my office. After 18 years of writing, I have drawers full of stories in folders, which I am going through and scaling down. One writer friend asked why I’d throw anything out, that I should save the multiple version of the stories and the rejection letters to donate to a university or someplace that documents writers’ works. She has a point. I mean, what if I do become famous one day and students want to study how my brain works? (Good luck with that! My husband still doesn’t know!). So with that in mind, I am only recycling some stuff, like stories that never really worked, or that I know I’ll never revisit. I also am tossing out the form rejection letters, but keeping the personal ones, and ones from publisher that don’t exist anymore. So I was going through my folders and in the The Night the Sheep Wouldn’t Jump folder there’s a rejection letter from my writer friend’s agent, Andrea Cascardi, who in a past life was the Editorial Director of Hyperion Books in 1994. But here’s the cool thing – there’s a rejection from M.T. Anderson! He’s the author of one of my favorite books, Feed. One of his comments was “While the subject has its charm (and I am an insomniac!), we felt that some of the particulars of the telling could have been fresher.” Good advice indeed. So I looked up M.T.’s website and sent him an email thanking him for his rejection letter. (He’s got a really cool website, by the way.) So, I can say I’ve been rejected by one of the best in my business! And I have proof… and his signature!

Leave a Reply

