On the Move

Standard


Just after I moved to Fort Collins, Colorado, I found out that two of my editors are moving to different houses as well.

Reka Simonsen, who was my editor for An Eye for Color: The Story of Josef Albers, has left Henry Holt & Co. and has joined Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s Books as an executive editor.

Kelli Chipponeri, my editor for my soon-to-be-released How to Raise a Dinosaur, is leaving Running Press Kids today to become executive editor at Chronicle Books.

I can look at this two ways: Bummer! I’ve been orphaned. Or, yay! I have doubled my publishing opportunities. I hope to work with both editors again, and their old houses as well.

In the meantime, Dan and I have moved from our rental and are trying to get our new house in order. I have no desk and am writing off our old kitchen table. I have no files so I’m working out of boxes. But I love the new view from my second-story office window which overlooks an open field of tall, straw-colored grass. And no matter upon what surface my computer sits, I still need to fire up the ol’ creative juices.

Another publishing house is interested in my latest picture book biography, so cross your fingers that my revision passes acquisitions so I can buy a new desk.

Illustration from How to Raise a Dinosaur by Pablo Bernasconi.

Leave a Reply

