Book Blogger Appreciation Week

Standard

Today, all over the book blog world, blog readers can indulge in reading about the people who write the blogs they love, and discover new ones that they might want to add to their list.

I was paired up with Lyndsey who writes amused, bemused and confused. Her website is: www.teadevotee.com.

Here’s what Lyndsey wrote about herself: “28, living in London writing by day, reading by night. When they make a film of my life, Tina Fey will play me. We have the same taste in glasses.When I grow up, I want to be a biographer. Until then, I mostly write about books and reading; but also sometimes films, the general madness of London life and…well…writing.”

I encourage you to pay her a virtual visit. She has a wonderful sense of humor, and a picky snobbery for tea!

And if you’re curious what questions she asked me in exchange, please go to her site today.

1. What was the moment when you decided, “I must write a blog!”

I had a few of these! I’m a speechwriter so I spend my days thinking and writing like other people; but I constantly itch to write my own things too and decided a blog would be a good outlet. I had a practice run by writing a blog about my progress while training for a race. Then I started up teadevotee.com, which was more or less an online journal splurghing out my random thoughts for about a year before I decided to concentrate on books.

2. How did you define what your blog’s focus would be?

Oddly enough, it was some feedback from the very nice people at wordpress that I got a lot of traffic when I wrote about books. So it was a case of giving the punters what they want!

3. Did you design your own blog look, or have someone do it for you?

It’s just a basic wordpress theme. This is actually something I want to work on over the next few months. Apple was handing out free training like sweeties for people buying new computers, so I’m going to be taking them up on that and doing some crazy design work. Alternatively, if anyone wants to do it for me, I’d love to hear from you. I’ll write you some speeches in return…or maybe make you a cake?

4. What are you hoping to achieve with your blog?

Actually, my blog is one part of my life where I feel like I don’t have to “achieve” anything. I just like to write and please myself, and hopefully please some other people too! It’s more a chance to stretch my writing muscles, ramble on a bit and meet some nice like-minded people.

5. Are you out to make tea drinkers out of readers?

Sure. In fact, I’d like to start my own cult of tea-devotees.

6. What do you think of coffee drinkers?

They don’t know what they’re missing. I only like coffee in cake.

7. What’s your favorite thing to be doing while sipping tea?

Reading in bed.

8. Like pairing wine with cheese, what book would you pair with tea and which flavor?

Any book tastes better with tea. Though there is only one flavour. I can’t be doing with these fancy-schmancy herbal teas. They aren’t tea, they are just hot, coloured water.

9. Who likes cookbooks more, you or your husband?

I would say about even. Favourites include Nigella Lawson’s Express, the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook, Rachel Allen’s Home Cooking. And we’ve just bought Plenty, by Ottolenghi – yum vegetarian food.

10. What genre is your favorite?

I really only read classics, literary fiction and biography. I can’t choose between them.

11. Have any children’s books you would recommend?

My nieces (3 and 5) adore the Charlie and Lola books – fantastic illustrations and great stories. They also love Oliver Jeffers: The Way Back Home. I’m a huge Roald Dahl and Laura Ingalls Wilder fan – can’t wait for them to be old enough to share them.

12. What do you think of jacket covers -waste of paper or protective cover?

Total waste of paper. Save the trees.

13. If you were to invite a character to tea, who would it be?

Can it be the other way round? I’d love to GO to tea at Alconleign in the Pursuit of Love and sit in the airing cupboard with Linda and Fanny. (I may borrow this idea for a future post actually!)

14. What else would you like other bloggers to know about you?

If you ever need a biography recommendation, I’m your woman. And I’m about to start an MA in creative writing so will hopefully end up writing my own.

One response »

Leave a Reply

