Nuts for Alamogordo!

Standard
Me holding up a pistachio nut at McGinn’s Pistachio Tree Ranch.

Just got back from a trip to Alamogordo, New Mexico where I did school visits at four schools and then spoke at the awards ceremony at the Young Writers Conference. The kids were prepared and full of questions, the hosts were generous and a hoot, and I got to experience a new part of our country.

Organizer and teacher, Ryal McMurry, from the Otera IRA, me, 
and his mom, Cheeta, a literacy coach and my gracious driver.

At the awards ceremony, the high school was decorated with artwork by the kids inspired by my book, An Eye for Color: The Story of Josef Albers.

Good, dino!

I even found a dinosaur behind the high school who wanted some tummy rubs.

Teachers Alicia and Jean from Yucca Elementary
at White Sands National Park.
The teachers hosted a picnic nears the dunes of White Sands. What a wonderful treat!  Have you ever sled down a dune? I did! And when the sun is setting, the dunes turn a haunting pale turquoise. It was such a calming place to be, and a nice place to meet the teachers under casual circumstances.

Thanks for the wonderful visit! I hope I inspired your kids to write more. They inspired me!

Leave a Reply

