The Twelfth Book of Christmas

Standard

This is the final day of my “The Twelve Books of Christmas” blog series. For the past twelve days I showcased a book written by a Colorado author who lives in the Fort Collins area. Please spread the Support Local Businesses love by purchasing a book by a local author at a local bookstore. That way your purchase will put a smile on everyone’s face.

Two independent bookstores that I recommend in Fort Collins are: Old Firehouse Books in Old Town, and Reader’s Cove on Harmony Rd. You can also find books at JAX Outdoor Gear on North College, Clothes Pony in Old Town, and the Northern Colorado Writers Studio at 108 East Monroe Dr. (Across from Tres Margaritas). Ask if they have any autographed copies in stock.

If you like cozy mysteries, then you’ll love…

For teens and adults who love crafts.

The Home Crafting Mysteries are contemporary, cozy mysteries in which crime and mayhem play out against the backdrop of different colonial home crafts. Join amateur sleuth Sophie Mae as she juggles murder investigations with her Winding Road Bath Products business, soap making, preserving food, spinning, cheese making and learning about making mead. Along the way Detective Barr Ambrose, her best friend Meghan Bly, and Meghan’s young daughter, Erin, help her track down the truth and bring killers to justice in the small town of Cadyville, Washington.

Wined and Died is the fifth in this mystery series. Something is brewing in Cadyville, and it’s not only dandelion wine. Sophie Mae is intrigued by a recently discovered cassette recording in which a therapist fearfully contemplates her client’s murderous threats. When the same therapist ends up dead, Sophie Mae is lured into another intoxicating investigation, one that explores the age-old arts of mead and wine making.

These books have a wide appeal among anyone interested in cozy mysteries or crafts, from teens to older adults. Library Journal says “Fans of Rosemary Harris and Maggie Sefton will appreciate McRae’s crafty series.” Most books in the series have also been published in large print editions.

Cricket McRae

Cricket McRae has always dabbled in the kind of traditional home crafts that were once necessary to everyday life. For two years she managed her own soap making business, and has worked at a variety of other jobs, ranging from driver’s license examiner to program manager at Microsoft. This fulfills her mother’s warning that she’d never have a “regular” job if she insisted on studying philosophy and English in college. For more information about Cricket or her books, visit her website at www.cricketmcrae.com or her blog at www.hearthcricket.com.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s