Snow Curtails CCIRA Conference

Standard

A record snowstorm in Denver put a chill on attendance at the Colorado Council International Reading Association (CCIRA) conference, but the teachers, librarians and exhibitors were nothing less than warm.

Last Thursday, I presented to an audience of about 40 mostly Colorado teachers, some whom had aspirations of becoming an author. Then on Friday, after a slow, icy drive behind snow plows, I arrived safely at the conference center and manned the SCBWI booth in the Exhibit Hall. Attendance was light that day (I didn’t sell any books), but I made a few contacts that may result in school visits. Later I attended the luncheon featuring Patricia MacLachlan, the author of the beloved story, Sarah, Plain and Tall.

Patricia MacLachlan

But the real reason I was at the luncheon was to support and applaud my buddy, Mary Nethery, who received the Colorado Children’s Book Award for her book, Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, Marine & a Miracle. Her co-author couldn’t attend, so Mary graciously accepted the award. Afterwards, I drove home in the record-breaking snowstorm, glad to be home, but also glad to have made good contacts at the conference and to have reconnected with my writer friend, Mary.

Colorado Children's Book Award Winner, Mary Nethery

One response »

Leave a Reply

