Win this book

Standard

One of the first writers I met when I moved to Fort Collins was Teresa Funke. She heads up the Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrator regional meetings. What I admire about her is her entrepreneurial spirit – she has her own press, Victory House Press – and publishes books with WWII themes based on real people and actual events. I have a friend who was a WWII WASP who turned 90, and so I know how important it is to help save the stories of the people who lived during these war times before they pass on.

That's me in the hat!

I attended Teresa’s book release party where a couple of talented high school girls performed a scene from the book. Teresa treated the audience to foods from the times when certain ingredients were rationed. Chocolate was hard to come by, so as a quiz prize, she gave a winner a 1 pound bar of Hershey’s chocolate. Oh, I wished it I had won!

I purchased a copy of Wave Me Good-Bye and just finished reading it. What I found of interest was that there was an actors’ orphanage in New York City that took in children from England whose parents worried for their safety during combat. The girl in the book befriends a boy who’s in the orphanage, and shares her worries about the war and how Jews were being treated in the United States, since her family was Jewish. Teresa based the story on a real lady, Roslyn Arnstein, who grew up in the Bronx in the only Jewish family in her neighborhood.

This book was written for ages 9 and up and I’m giving away a signed copy to the first person who can name another one of Teresa’s book titles from her Home-Front Series. Go to her website at www.teresafunke.com and find her books there. Then come back and leave your answer in the comment section.

3 responses »

  1. Another one of Teresa’s fabulous books is Doing My Part! I LOVE teaching kids about World War II as my grandfather fought on the European front.

Leave a Reply

