The Eric Carle Museum

Standard
Outside The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art.

Outside The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art.

Earlier this month, I had the privilege of presenting at The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art. I gave a presentation to an  audience ranging from toddler to teens (and one teacher who drove out from New York City to meet me) about my book, An Eye for Color: The Story of Josef Albers. I spoke about my connection with Albers (he lived down the street from me as a child) and performed some optical illusions with color. Afterwards in the Art Studio the kids created their own Albers-inspired art using colored squares.

The inspiration for the art project.

The inspiration for the art project.

Making art with colored squares.

Making art with colored squares.

IMG_0941

As a picture book writer, I was also a patron that day, touring the Eric Carle exhibits and the artwork of guest artist, Mo Willems.  What an exciting experience to see how they develop their art and books!

Large-scale Eric Carle painting.

Large-scale Eric Carle painting.

The very hungry caterpillar ate me!

The very hungry caterpillar ate me!

Willems's famous pigeon.

Willems’s famous pigeon.

If you are a picture book artist, I highly suggest that you contact the museum to set up a presentation there. And if you’re a lover of picture books, then make the museum a destination. I bought some fun birthday and postcards in their fabulous gift shop.

The museum is located at 125 West Bay Road in Amherst, MA. Here’s more information: www.carlemuseum.org

Visit the museum in Amherst, Mass.

Visit the museum in Amherst, Mass.

Leave a Reply

