Publisher Meeting in NYC

Standard
Image

My agent, Linda Pratt, of Wernick & Pratt.

Every now and again it’s good to have some face time with your publisher. So recently I went to New York City to meet with the publisher of my The Night Before series, Grosset & Dunlap. It proved to be worth the time! I met the publisher, a rep from series and licensing, marketing, and my editor and her assistant. What a great way to see the people who are working behind the scenes to help keep your series successful!

My agent, Linda Pratt, and I walked away with such a great feeling of cooperation and enthusiasm that it re-energized me to want to write more! And it looks like additional titles are on the horizon. Can’t tell you the topics right now, but I can say they are excited about the next title coming out, The Night Before Hanukkah.

We also talked about new ways to market the series. There are some exciting things ahead!

While in NYC, I took advantage of the pleasant weather and walked the High Line. This is one of my favorite photos taken from the walkway. I love the expression of the lady on the billboard.

Image

Then after my meeting I met up with a high school friend who now works at The New York Times and toured her building. So cool! I was amazed at how quiet the newsroom was compared to when I used to work at The Arizona Republic 27 years ago. As a tour guide (my first job out of college) I led groups through the newspaper and into the printing press area. The rumble of the presses. The smell of ink. The buzz of deadlines. It was exciting to be around. My agent says I tend to write in a journalist style when I write non-fiction books. Must be ingrained in me!

Image

The New York Times building where Amy works.

I felt so professional in NYC! I was there to recommit to my career so when I saw this sign, I heard my inner voice answer, “Yes you do!”

Image

I only got a distant look at the Statue of Liberty. But back in Fort Collins, she stands in City Park.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

